Pin on Pinterest
Troop 840 Eagle Scouts gather at the troop's 25th anniversary dinner in 2012.
Coppell Boy Scout Troop 840 will host its 30th Anniversary Dinner and Celebration at Valley Ranch Baptist Church on Saturday, April 1. All current and former members of the troop, including family members, are invited to attend.
The featured guest speaker for the event is Jack D. Furst, distinguished private equity investor, business owner, philanthropist, rancher, and adjunct professor of Finance and Investments at The University of North Texas. As a youth, Furst participated in the Cub Scout and Boy Scout programs, earning his Eagle Scout rank and Bronze Palm. Throughout his adult scouting career, Furst has served in numerous volunteer positions and leadership roles at both the council and national level. As an adult scouter, Furst is the recipient of the Silver Beaver Award, the Silver Antelope Award, the Silver Buffalo Award, the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award, and The Order of the Arrow’s Vigil Honor Award. In 1998, Furst established and endowed the Jack D. Furst Aquatics Base at Circle Ten Council's Camp Constantin.
Over the past 30 years, Troop 840's history has included a heritage of chartering organizations and scoutmasters. In 1987, the Coppell fire station was Troop 840's first chartering organization, but the troop quickly outgrew the facilitiesBy the fall of 1988, the troop had begun meeting at Coppell Middle School East. In the spring of 1989, Sandy Lake Baptist Church took over the troop's charter and provided a meeting place for many years. The troop relocated again in August 2007 when Valley Ranch Baptist Church became the troop's current chartering organization, providing its facilities as a meeting place for the growing troop.
The troop has now grown to 143 active members, with 162 Troop 840 scouts having earned the rank of Eagle Scout during the troop's 30-year history.
Although Troop 840 is a boy-led group, with scouts planning and running the weekly meetings and taking a leading role in organizing all campouts and troop activities, its adult leaders have also been vital to its success. Former scoutmasters for the troop are Gary Brewer, Bob McCarty, Forrest Broom, Terry Tyler, Waid Davis, Chris Wilt, Terry Smith, and the late Lawrence Paroski. Their leadership and the examples they displayed have inspired Troop 840 scouts to uphold the principles of scouting in their daily lives and into adulthood. Troop 840 scouts continue to benefit from the influence of former scoutmasters Davis, Wilt, and Smith, who are still active leaders in the troop though their sons are now grown.
For more information or to register for the 30th Anniversary Celebration, email To send an update on a Troop 840 Eagle Scout for the printed program, email To recognize a Troop 840 scout or adult leader by making a donation to help offset costs for the event, email
Troop 840 meets weekly at Valley Ranch Baptist Church and is led by Scoutmaster Phillip Morse and Senior Patrol Leader Mayank Raj.