Pin on Pinterest
JV Girls after the win


The rain held off for the 2016 Gerald Richey Cross Country Invitational hosted by UT Arlington on Saturday allowing Coppell’s teams to bring home first and second place team finishes.  Runners from Coppell competed in both Varsity and Junior Varsity divisions on the 5k course through Lynn Creek Park on the banks of Joe Pool Lake in Grand Prairie. 

The Varsity Girls’ team finished 2nd to Prosper High School with Sophomore Maddie Hulcy crossing the finish line first for Coppell  in 4th place overall with a time of 19:43.8.  Freshmen Sydney Rowe and Izzy Iseley followed in 8th and 13th place with Jimena Benavides and Ardi Saunders close behind in 14th and 16th place.

The Varsity Boys also brought home a second place trophy coming in just behind Lovejoy High School.  It was another top finish for Senior Nathan Sims (16:26.20) who came in 5th overall with Grant Reese and Alan Huo not far behind in 11th and 12th place.  Other top Varsity finishers for Coppell were Marcos Bohn in 17th place and Jacob Turman in 23rd

The highlight of the day came with two first place team finishes from Coppell’s JV Girls and Boys teams.  Not only were they first in overall team standings, but Coppell also had two first place individual finishes and took 7 of the top ten spots in both the girls and boys races.   Senior Cali Westervelt had the winning time for the girls (21:13.6) followed by Hannah Pridgen in 2nd, Joni Goh (4th), Catie Kimball ( 5th) Zayna Siddiqui (6th) and Katelin Reznicek and Dani Flores in 7th and 9th place. 

As rain threatened, the JV boys took to the course next, and after a restart due to a fall, they were off.  Andres Abrego Guerra crossed the finish line in first (17:46.7) with Troy Briscoe next in 3rd place.    They were followed by Justin Chow, Tyler Bricoe, AJ Rothwell, Fernando Vazquez and Daniel Ingrisan in 5th-9th place.  Way to go JV runners!!

Next on the schedule for Coppell High School is the Flower Mound Invitational at Gerault Park , 1200 Gerault Rd. in Flower Mound, on Saturday, Sept. 17 at 7:30 am.  

Related Posts