S. W. – Guest Contributor
Apr 8 2014
Pin on Pinterest
CHS and New Tech swimmers receive awards at their end of season banquet. From l to r: Chad Johnson, Woo Son, Jenna Loria, Savannah Henry, Shannon Wheeler, Matthew Whiting, Joanne Chu, Luke Meyer and Mason David.

The Coppell Cowboys and Cowgirls Swim Team celebrated their end of season banquet this past Sunday night at the Las Colinas Country Club. Coach Patrick Henry and Assistant Coach Jessica Myers handed out individual awards to nine of the swimmers at the end of the banquet.

Receiving the top MVP honors for their multiple accomplishments throughout the season were seniors Joanne Chu and Luke Meyer. Chu set a new women's 50 yard freestyle school record. The "Newcomer of the Year" award went to sophomore Chad Johnson and junior Jenna Loria, who set a new school record in the women's 100 breaststroke. 

The "Most Improved" swimmers were sophomores Woo Son and Savannah Henry for their continual drops in time throughout the season. The "Hardest Worker" award went to junior Shannon Wheeler and sophomore Matthew Whiting for their determination throughout the year.  

A special "Heart and Hustle" award was given to senior captain Mason David who has given so much to the team the past four years. The award was also given to the girls medley relay team consisting of Henry, Wheeler, Loria and Chu for setting a new school record and for taking the team all the way to the State meet. 

The team also honored its eight graduating seniors, Meyer, Chu, David, captain Katie Holloway, captain Gaby Rivera, Harry Ahn, Carlos Certucha and Madison Smith.

Congratulations to the entire team on a successful and fun year! Way to go, swimmers!